Skip to main content

About Us

SKACD 613

  • is one of the largest geographical cooperatives in Kansas covering 10,000 square miles.
  • encompasses 14 districts and employs a professional and support staff of over 450 individuals.
  •  provides services in 25 elementary schools, 2 middle schools, and 14 high schools to over 10,000 students.
  •  provides quality special education services including diagnostic and psychological services, instructional classes and assistance in all areas of exceptionality.
  •  provides continuing support for teachers and programs including inservices, materials budgets and paraeducational support when needed.
  •  provides half tuition reimbursement for approved college hours after the first year of employment.
  • enjoys a diverse student body and a strong level of community support for educational programs.
  • schools are fully accredited by the Kansas State Department of Education and/or by the North Central Accreditation Commission on secondary schools.
  • incorporates a vision of high expectations for all learners and strives to employ an innovative and diverse body of educators.
  •  a majority of staff who have received post-bachelor training with a large percentage of staff holding a master's degree.
  • staff averages over 13 years of professional teaching experience but ranges from first year teachers to instructors with over 35 years of experience.
  • serves communities ranging in size from 200 to 25,000 in total population.
  • embraces a mission of meeting the needs of all exceptional children in the least restrictive environment possible.

"We Help Kids"

 

Our Mission

 

To meet the educational needs of all exceptional children in the least restrictive environment possible.

(1) Improve the professional skills of the cooperative staff

(2) Provide special education services in the student's home school

(3) Increase regular education accommodation of special education students

(4) Improve transition procedures for preschool and graduating special education students

(5) Provide special education services appropriate to individual student needs and eventual adult living

(6) Continue to provide cost saving services to member districts

(7) Continue to implement computerized IEPs and Management Information System

"We Help Kids"

District Calendar

This Week's Events

Current Weather

clear

Temperature: 87˚F

Current Condition: Clear

Wind Speeds: 11.16mph

Chance of Precipitation: 0.53%

5-day Outlook

Wednesday:
rain
Temperature: 84/61
Rain in the morning.
Thursday:
partly-cloudy
Temperature: 81/59
Partly cloudy in the morning.
Friday:
rain
Temperature: 90/66
Light rain overnight.
Saturday:
partly-cloudy
Temperature: 92/69
Partly cloudy until afternoon.
Sunday:
rain
Temperature: 85/64
Rain overnight.

Contact Information

Southwest Kansas Area Cooperative District (SKACD)
001 Ford Street
Ensign, Kansas 67841
Schedule:

8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Business Office Personnel:

Leesa Sneath – Human Resource

lsneath@skacd.com

Rhonda Zordel – Payroll

rzordel@skacd.com

Terie Julian – Financial

teriej@skacd.com

Kristen Gipson – Payroll Assistant

kgipson@skacd.com

Jessie Stapleton – Para Facilitator 

jstapleton@skacd.org

Esther Friesen – Medicaid & Receptionist

estherjf@skacd.com

Joni Gleason – MIS Clerk

jonig@skacd.com

 

Phone: 620-865-2054
Fax: 620-865-2055

Main

JOB OPPORTUNITIES

Administration

ADMINISTRATORS

Director John Maples, johnm@skacd.com

Assistant Director Shirley Goldsberry, shirleyg@skacd.com

Assistant Director Derrick Dizmang, ddizmang@skacd.org

 


 

Dodge City Office

620-371-1061

Dodge City Office Receptionist: Dulce Ochoa

Ochoa.Dulce@usd443.org

Interpreters:

Nora Aguilar

aguilar.nora@usd443.org

Irene Murillo

murillo.irene2@usd443.org